Guest House

Some films surprise me in a good way, some surprise me in a bad way. This trash surprised me and depressed me as it apparently has screenwriters. I will give them some dignity by calling them all Alan Smithee. This embarrassment of a film comes across as amateurs who are trying to improv every scene but they just aren’t funny people.

The set up as far as it goes has a young couple buying their dream house only to find a druggie tenant is staying in the guest house at the bottom of their garden. He refuses to leave and all sorts of boring shenanigans occurs such as hosting parties with lots of naked females. There are homophobic jokes, which I guess appeal to some but not me.

The house guest is played by a knock-off Rob Schneider – even he may not want to appear in this garbage. I did expect David Spade to have a cameo – that is how bad this drivel is.

The film goes from boring crude scene to boring crude scene and has a laughably bad ending. Alan Smithee seems to have painted themselves into a corner.

There really is no saving grace. Even the short running time was far too long. Don’t waste your time – avoid it with a 39.5 foot pole.

Rating: 0.5 out of 5.

Leave a comment